Tags

, ,

I read in a ceramics magazine the other day about yet another artist embarking on quest for the “elusive perfect piece”.  At least she wasn’t completely oblivious of the implications of such a target.  It’s pretty much like sending yourself off to extract Unobtanium on Pandora. There is a reason why it is called science-fiction.

At first, I was about to says that there is no such thing a perfection in art.  Then I remembered that the use of mathematics (cf: golden ratio and the Fibonacci sequence) which might be the way to go then, but where would be the fun in that.  And since it’s most often a potter’s quest, there are so many variables when throwing that it beats me why someone would set themselves for failure?  Here indeed I can only see it attainable with a machine-made  mould made so that those mathematics principles would apply. Again not much fun.

Seems to me that what matters is the journey of making each work better than the previous one, whether by improving one’s technique or ways to express what the intent is about.

One could wonder, what does one need perfection for?  How would you know you have it?  In whose eyes anyway?  Art is so much dependent on the viewers that what one might find perfect might be total crap for another…

And if by some miracle one find themselves say:  “That’s it, I’ve made the perfect pot”.  So what now?  I’d say good for you now find something else to do and let others bask in their journey through imperfections.

Let me know what  you think?

