Tags

, , , , , , , ,

One of the perks of being a member of the Ottawa Guild of Potters is that I have access to an extensive library of magazines and books on ceramics. In one of my favorite magazines, Ceramics Art and Perception (Issue #67, May 2007), I saw this beautiful work by Australian artist John Mawhinney.

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005

The New South Wales artist uses a clay I would love to try my hands on: Southern Ice Porcelain. His sea-inspired pieces seek to illustrate that there are systems within systems in nature as well as chaos and order.
Although our approach to our work differ, I can’t help but thinking that there is great similarities in the esthetics between my most recent work and the pieces below.

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005

Ceramic Form 2005


The pictures are from the Arts Northern Rivers Visual Arts Network website, where one can find Mr. Mawhinney’s bio.

