Tags

, , , , , , , ,

clocheI recently purchased 2 glass-bell jars similar to this one (minus the metallic end on the rope) at Michaels. I fell in love with them and thought they would be a great addition to my seahorse series. They have a marine/seaside quality to them and will be a metaphor for the curio trade. It refers to the many dried seahorses souvenir items tourists buy from in stores (key chains, cast in resin, etc.). It is one of the many reasons why seahorses are endangered.

Below is my latest seahorse sculpture. There is a support piece under its jaw for the bisque firing. This piece is supposed to fit under the bell but I might have made it too tall… We’ll see with the final firing. I intend to glaze it with my glue-glaze, which explains the absence of texture on his body.

