Tags

, ,

Previous Business Card Design.

Previous Business Card Design.

It took me almost 5 years to use 250 business cards… and recently it was time to print another batch so I wouldn’t run out in the middle of a show. As much as I liked the Design I had created for it, my work has evolved of the years and I decided it was due for a change. It also needed to be cohesive with my Website (redesigned over the years) and this Blog which did not exist in 2010. With all of the other projects on my plate, it took me a few months to find the right fit (I’m not a graphic designer but I can manage my way around Gimp or Photoshop without having to hire someone or at least that’s what I think, you tell me). I also wanted to add some more info (thanks to my many readings on the business of art), get a Tagline (the exercise of summarizing one’s work in 5 words max was a hard one), increase readability (another one from my readings) by adding capital letters in the web address, emails…

Inspiration for my new Design (credit: Miss Annabel Dee, a ceramic artist from the UK).

Inspiration for my new Design (credit: Miss Annabel Dee, a ceramic artist from the UK).

I found inspiration on another ceramic artist’s Blog from the UK, Miss annabel Dee.

I decided to go with Vistaprint as it looked at first like a good deal… Well actually when they advertise – 40 % off an item it doesn’t mean on an order of Business Cards, but on the most expensive part of your order (here for example it was applied on the front of my card, $38 for 250 cards, yeah). I wanted my logo to appear as a raised print that’s why it’s more expansive than the usual cards as a starter. Why using raised print? Because I make 3D work and it makes the card more memorable. To this I added the reverse side in colour ($13), the shipping ($7.99 for 10 days delivery, the slowest I could get since I did not have to rush it) and taxes ($5.69). On and all it is costing me $49.48 or 19.80cts per card. In 2010 I paid for 250 one-sided card (colour) $34.56. Here is the result prior to being printed (I am expecting them by May 1rst). Any comments?

